Tags

, , , , , ,

not sure if I’ll buy it again, I could’ve made that with just big chunks of white mushrooms and it would have been equally nice and much cheaper,

While I was in town the other day I popped into the health food shop and picked up some more wild rice because I was running low, I got a bag of red Camargue rice and one of black venus rice and decided to use it along with a little long grain rice for Tuesdays dinner, which was almost vegetarian, until I added some crispy prosciutto, just to finish it off.

Quorn in a creamy sauce with red rice:

quorn and red rice prep

I put the rice on to simmer for about half an hour and in the meantime sweated off some onion and then added peppers and mushrooms.

saute mush

once they were soft I added the quorn and sauted that until it started to lightly colour, then chucked in a bit of leftover camembert..

add cam

I added some creme fraiche and gently cooked it out so it didn’t curdle, added a good splash of milk and then thickened the sauce with a fecule and simmered it for 5 minutes.

I served the quorn on the rice

on rice

and then topped it with some crisp prosciutto and halloumi

with halloumi

I didn’t tell Mr. 5 it was just quorn until he was half way through it and said this is lovely, is there chicken in it too, and I said nope, just the quorn this time and he was really surprised he enjoyed it as much..

Quorn and prosciutto

it was yummy, not sure if I’ll buy it again, I could’ve made that with just big chunks of white mushrooms and it would have been equally nice and much cheaper, but I’m glad I’ve experimented with it..

