Tags

, , ,

and no self respecting Irish peasant would waste, if they actually had it, alcohol in a stew,

I decided to make an unauthentic Irish stew, it’s unauthentic because it is made with lamb, not mutton and I put guinness in mine and no self respecting Irish peasant would waste, if they actually had it, alcohol in a stew, nor does it have pearl barley in it, because I didn’t have it, I used round neck of lamb because it’s really cheap and quite tasty and I made soda bread with a little bit of yogurt and some guinness.

unauthentic Irish stew:

irish stew prep

I dredged the lamb in a little seasoned flour and then browned them in oil.

brown neck

I removed them from the pan and browned off the veg, onion first.

brown veg

Then I took the veg out and put it to one side, put the lamb back in, added a 1/4 bottle of guinness and topped it up with water

top with water

I slow cooked it for about 2 hours and then added the veg

add veg

and cooked it for another hour

cook

I made a loaf of soda bread

guinness soda bread

and had it with the stew

stew and bread

Which I have to say, was absolutely bloody gorgeous, Mr 5 said it tasted just like his Aunty Joan used to make when they were kids in Eire, so well done me…

irish stew

