Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

as a consolation prize, I made all together choc chip cookies, they are called that because you simply chuck all the ingredients into a bowl

I made these on Friday using up some left over mozzarella from the smoked haddock fish cakes I’d made the day before, similar recipe to this one here

these were lovely..

fishcakes

and the mozzarella oozed perfectly.

fish cake middle

I’m still not entirely convinced that I’m any better off, either health wise or financially, choosing quorn over real meat, I have noticed that the ‘mince’ was very salty, possibly due to it’s high sodium content, I rarely salt my food so it was very noticeable but I am glad I experimented with it, I think in future if I decide to have a meat free meal, I’ll do just that and use vegetables instead.

This dinner was using up the last of the quorn mince, I also noticed after finishing the tacos, I didn’t feel that satisfaction I would have if it had been mince beef, there was something missing, like the whole meal was lacking in substance, having said that they tasted very nice, certainly a perfectly acceptable vegetarian option.

Quorn tacos:

quorn taco prep

I made some salsa by sweating off onion, peppers, chilli and coriander..

salsa prep

adding a tin of tomatoes and cooking it out.

salsa

I made some guacamole too.

guac salsa

I cooked the quorn with some taco seasoning, peppers, onion and a tin of refried beans and then heaped it into some taco shells and layered it with monterey jack and mozzarella.

fill

I baked them in the oven until the cheese was oozy.

chz

and served them with some peppers and onions.

quorn tacos

Very nice, just lacking in something, probably meat, as a consolation prize, I made all together choc chip cookies, they are called that because you simply chuck all the ingredients:

150g S.R Flour
100g melted butter
90g sugar
1 tbsp golden syrup
vanilla essence
50g choc chips

Into a bowl, mix together and dollop onto a baking sheet, 12 minutes at 190..

cookies

if you have any left over the next day, quick blast in the microwave re softens them so they are chewy again.

