Tags

, , , , , , ,

Even if I say so myself, that was divine, the pie was awesome, I was really pleased with the results

I decided to make pie and mash, rather than have gravy or a traditional liquor with mine, I find it a little too thin for my taste, I’d make my own slightly thicker version, I also had mushy peas with mine, because I really do like them.

Rather than use mince beef as is traditional, I used beef skirt that I already had in the freezer, this was rather a time consuming dinner, but I really enjoyed making it.
I braised the beef whole in some water for about 4 hours on low, then I made a thick gravy with the stock and cooked it for another hour and a half, then I left it to cool down.

Pie, mash and liquor:

I made a short pastry; 6/3, for the base and chilled it for half an hour, then I lined four tin foil pie dishes with it.

short bottom

filled each with the beef filling

filling

and gave them a puff pastry lid, which I bought ready rolled.

puff tops

Brushed them with milk and baked them until they were brown.

baked

I served them with mash and ‘liquor’, which was a basic white sauce, seasoned with a tsp of English mustard, chopped parsley and a tbsp of malt vinegar, salt and white pepper.

liquor

Then I added the peas…

with mushy peas

Even if I say so myself, that was divine, the pie was awesome, I was really pleased with the results and the sauce was perfect..

pie1

I made jam tarts with the short pastry trimmings.

pastry trimmings

Not forgetting a queen of tarts, that as you know, is the last bit of pastry all smushed together

tarts

