Tags

, , , , , ,

I par boiled the rice first, had I known I was going to be waylaid I’d have done it from raw.

On Wednesday I was going to make some ‘melt in the middle fishcakes’ but as we had had fishcakes the week before I decided that I’d wait a week or two before making them again, so I needed to think of something else, Thiswasdinner did a kedgeree post a while ago, so I decided to make a kedgeree, it was very nearly a hideous disaster, while I was cooking it I decided to pop round to my neighbours and drop off a parcel, by the time I got back it was slightly over cooked, but it tasted nice and wasn’t too spoiled..

Egg and bacon smoked haddock kedgeree:

kedgeree prep

I par boiled the rice first, had I known I was going to be waylaid I’d have done it from raw.
I cooked the onions and as an after thought added some left over rashers of streaky bacon.

bacon

Then I removed the bacon and added some peppers and some left over potatoes from the night before, along with the curry spices

peppers and pot

added the rice, fish, some water and some madras curry powder.

water

Then let it cook out, rescuing it at the last moment.

cook

I boiled some eggs and added them along with some tomato and the bacon.

egg and bacon

and served it with a paratha.

kedgeree paratha

