Tags

, , , , , , ,

I didn’t eat the skin, but it’s cheaper to buy skin on chicken than skin off, it gives a little extra something to the potatoes and at the end of cooking, Woofboy gets it on his dinner..

This pie is not unlike the turkey filo pie I made a while back, but it is far more indulgent because it contains whipped double cream, not because I was feeling overly decadent but because I had some in the fridge left over from the victoria sponge the other day and it needed using up, it also has red Leicester on the top, because I am a cheesaholic and it was a good idea..

Luxury Chicken filo pie with red Leicester:

chix filo pie

I cooked off some onion, leek and mushrooms in butter added the chicken and a little bit of pancetta I remembered having in the fridge and cooked it some more, then I added some cornflour to make a roux.
Then in went the whipped cream..

add cream

some frozen spinach and a splash of cider, which I added because it needed thinning and I was drinking some at the time, I was tempted to add some cheese but decided that would make it just a little bit too rich, as if it wasn’t all ready, put it into a shallow dish

filling

and then scrunched some filo pastry on top, along with the grated cheese.

add chz

I baked it in the oven until it looked all golden brown and yummy

bake

and served it with some potatoes which I had roasted in the oven with some onion and the skin from the chicken, I didn’t eat the skin, but it’s cheaper to buy skin on chicken than skin off, it gives a little extra something to the potatoes and at the end of cooking, Woofboy gets it on his dinner..

pots

It was gorgeous, I like filo pastry, it’s so easy to use and yet looks amazing when cooked.

with veg

Now I just need to think of a few more things to use it up with..

close

