Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

which was just as well because it was a hideous stormy afternoon and we had a power cut for an hour, so I was able to just make this up and stick it in the oven when it came back on.

I’ve put these two meals in the same post because they both use ready made sauces of a sort, the Thai curry, a jar of paste and the coq au vin, a packet mix, technically they aren’t made from scratch, but neither are they ready meals, but it just goes to show that even if you do have some help, you can come up with something lovely for dinner..

I am going to look into making my own Thai curry from scratch one day, but for the time being I see no problem with using a pre prepared base.

Prawn Thai red curry:

thai prep

I fried off some chilli, onion, garlic, ginger and lemongrass, some peppers and the prawns

prawns

added the paste, some creamed coconut stuff

paste

and then some cream to make the sauce..

add cream

it was delicious, I keep forgetting I like Thai curry, I served it with some jasmine rice

with jasmine rice

and some thai crackers..

thai curry

and because it didn’t take too long to make, I whipped up some chocolate chip cookies too.

dead quick cookies

Guinea fowl au vin:

I used a packet mix for this because I knew I wouldn’t have time to faff about making it properly, which was just as well because it was a hideous stormy afternoon and we had a power cut for an hour, so I was able to just make this up and stick it in the oven when it came back on.

coq au vin prep

I had half the guinea fowl from the other day in the freezer, I just cut it up, put it into the casserole with shallots, button mushrooms and tomatoes, some parsley and quite a lot of red wine..

in pot

added the mix

add sauce

then I cooked it for about 2 hours on low..

cooked

I served it with some dauphinoise potatoes

dauphinoise

which I put on top when it was ready.

pots on top

it was delicious, really enjoyed it and will certainly be buying guinea fowl again.

So two of a kind in that I cheated a bit..

