Tags

, , , , , , ,

I spatchcocked my chicken by simply removing the back bone and squashing it out a bit,

I nicked this from Jammie and Jimmy’s Friday night food fight thing that’s on at the moment..
Dexter Fletcher, he of Press gang fame, for those who remember it was assigned this dish, I adapted it slightly, mostly because I was doing the Telegraph crossword at the same time and wasn’t paying complete attention, but basically it’s roast chicken in soft tacos.

I spatchcocked my chicken by simply removing the back bone and squashing it out a bit, covered it in fajita seasoning and plenty of lime and the roasted it in the oven

chicken

Limed roast fajita chicken with soft tacos and salsa:

I made up some tortillas, I think I used 200g flour and a tbsp of olive oil and enough water to make a dough;
rolled it out

roll tortillas

and cooked them in a hot wok and kept them warm in a tea towel.

flour tortillas

I made up a crunchy salsa of onion, coriander, mint, chilli, cucumber, garlic

chop everything

lime juice and olive oil salsa

squushed up an avocado and grated some red Leicester..

salsa chz

When the chicken was done and while it was resting I cooked some onions and peepers in the roasting tin, then shredded it up.

shred chicken

and it was just a case of heaping everything onto a flour tortilla

heap on filling

folding it over and devouring it..

fold over

Delicious, far more appetising that any take away or KFC.

