Tags

, , , , , ,

I took a tip from Jamie Oliver and spritzed them with some balsamic vinegar about 5 minutes before they came out of the oven,

I made this on Friday, I wanted to try a different way of cooking the stewing steaks I had bought and came up with the idea of cooking them in a roasting bag, I wish I could say that I had the foresight to marinate them overnight in wine, herbs and spices but I didn’t, I glugged some red wine over them added some pepper and left them for half an hour.

steak

Then I put them into an oven roasting bag.
I didn’t really know what I was going to do with them once they were cooked, but I had 4 hours to think and decided on..

Beef steak pie and roast chips:

So when the meat was done..

meat

and I had poured myself a rum and coke, I just fancied one, I’ve not had one since Christmas, oh and a handful of pretzels, which reminds me, I’m going to try my hand at making some.

rum coke

I made up a red wine and mushroom sauce, using the meat juices from the bag

wine and meat juices

and then thickened it up with some beef gravy granules and put the meat back in..

make sauce

I made some roast chips, which were just chips, parboiled, coated in a flour seasoning and roasted just like you would potatoes..

roast chips

Using the leftover suet pastry dough from the evening before, I made two pastry lids, the meat was really tender and I had to be careful it didn’t fall apart when serving it up..

with sauce

I added the lid

lid

and served it with some green beans

pie and chips

I thoroughly enjoyed it, and chips were gorgeous too, I took a tip from Jamie Oliver and spritzed them with some balsamic vinegar about 5 minutes before they came out of the oven, I don’t know if that made them even more yummy, but they were..

