Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

probably because they didn’t have it or possibly because I was looking for a hard cheese and not a semi soft one,

I sort of got this idea from one of my mums Prima magazines that I was flicking through the other day, it included Taleggio as one of the ingredient, all I knew is that it was a cheese and I couldn’t see any in either Tesco or Morrisons, probably because they didn’t have it or possibly because I was looking for a hard cheese and not a semi soft one, but I didn’t know that until I looked it up just now, so perhaps a camembert or brie might be an suitable alternative, anyway I decided to adapt it with gruyere and red Leicester and use up the leftover quails eggs in the topping, hence calling it polonaise, it was quite an indulgent dish, but only because I had a tub of out of date double cream to use up..

So this is
Cheesy chicken polonaise:

cheesy chix polonaise

I smeared some cream cheese on the underside of the chicken and seasoned it

cream cheese

I put the cream in a dish, added some leeks, more black pepper

in leeks

Then I put the chicken on top, scattered over some pancetta and coated it with some of the cream, covered it in tin foil

in dish

and baked it in the oven for about 20 minutes.

cook

 

I topped it with a mixture of cheese, breadcrumbs, chopped hard boiled egg and seasoning.

add topping

Then I grilled it..

brown top

I served it with some baked potatoes, tomatoes and green beans.

toms

It was delicious..

polonaise chicken

I think I’ll do a fishy version this week as  it was so nice..

