Tags

, , , , ,

I have called this a rarebit broth because it almost has cheese on toast on the top of it and that’s good enough for me,

Although Spring doesn’t officially start until March the 20th, Saturday, which was the 1st March was one of those days you know it’s on its way, I took woofboy on our first real epic scamper of the year.

big sky

It was a beautiful, big sky day, and I love those, by the time I got back I was ravenous and the turkey wing I’d found in the freezer which seemed like a good idea at the time was slowly loosing it’s appeal, but I had decided on turkey broth and that’s what we were having..

Turkey Rarebit broth:

I have called this a rarebit broth because it almost has cheese on toast on the top of it and that’s good enough for me, it is quite similar to the Tuscan bread soup I made previously.

turkey rarebit broth prep

Along with the turkey wing, I also had some turkey stock and some stale bread to use up, some prosciutto from the cod and a bit of Gruyere as well as a few bits of limp veg..

It was really quite an easy dish, I diced the veg up, sweated it off in butter, added flour to make a roux, cooked it out a bit

roux

added the turkey stock to make soup

add stock

then I let it cook out, I roasted the turkey wing, stripped the meat off and put it in the soup, which I seasoned with some spicy season all and black pepper

add meat

I buttered the stale crust ends of the bread, put them in the oven to melt it, then added the prosciutto and grated Gruyere.

bread

and then warmed the lot in the oven, I put a heap of rarebit in a dish

cheese bread

covered it in broth

broth

added the remaining bread and cheese

top with

and it was bloody lovely, far nicer than my initial thoughts and not bad for a few left over bits.

turkey rarebit broth

