Tags

, , , , , , ,

I chose to use rolls instead of a loaf because a loaf would have been far too big and I bought the rolls because I’ve yet to successfully produce a crusty one yet..

Having a mooch round on line the other month I came across Bunny chow, which turns out to be a popular South African street food,  despite it’s name, it doesn’t contain any bunnies, there are various stories behind it’s creation, one being that the dish originated Durban in the early 1900s, when migrant Indian workers would get their curry “to go”, the shopkeepers served the curry in hollowed out loaves of bread.
The name “bunny” was probably from Hindi banyā, from Gujerati vaniya, denoting one of a Hindu caste of merchants at the time and “chow” in the sense ‘food’.)

so basically some bright spark somewhere decided to put curry in a loaf..

This is my version, I chose to use rolls instead of a loaf because a loaf would have been far too big and I bought the rolls because I’ve yet to successfully produce a crusty one yet..

This was a perfect dish to use up some quorn I’d found in the freezer, I thought I’d finally used it all up ages ago, and a lonely chicken breast, if you made it with quorn alone it would be a perfect vegetarian dish..

Bunny chow: 

bunny prep

I started off with the curry, I chose to make my own unique spiced one, rather than a traditional Durban curry, mostly because I’ve got a pot of ras el hanout paste that need using up..

I fried off some onion, ginger, garlic, turmeric, chili and galangal in ghee, then added a teaspoon each of ras el hanout and harissa paste and a huge spoonful of medium curry powder

add ras and harissa

to that I added the chicken and quorn and mixed it all together to coat it.

cook meat

Then I slowly added the stock

add stock

I thickened it a little with chicken gravy granules and then decided to use up a two week old out of date pot of natural yogurt, which was perfectly fine..

add yoghurt

I made some french fries

fries

a carrot and onion salad, which according to a couple of websites, is the thing to have with it, I added cucumber because I had some..

carrot salad

Then it was simply a case of hollowing out the roll and filling it with curry..

put in roll

That was superb, such a brilliant idea, I’m glad we decided against a Nandos take away..

bunny chow

