Tags

, , , , , ,

It wasn’t til I’d made them I remembered Mr 5 doesn’t like melty feta cheese, but it was too late by then, so he had to scrape his off..

When was this? oh That’s right, Monday, another week whizzed by, I bought some minced lamb for some reason, but I was buggered if I could remember what it was I was going to do with it, so I thought I’d make lamb meatballs, I had some feta cheese in the fridge which I thought might made a nice addition, and it did, It wasn’t til I’d made them I remembered Mr 5 doesn’t like melty feta cheese, but it was too late by then, so he had to scrape his off..
I thought they were super..

I’ve called them

Moroccan meatballs:

because I used Moroccan seasoning in the meatballs and ras el hanout and harissa paste in the sauce and not because they are actually a North African dish..

feta meatball prep

I mixed the lamb mince with some Moroccan seasoning, chopped coriander, parsley, garlic and lime juice then molded the mince around some cubes of feta.

feta in meat

I baked them in the oven while I made a sauce, I fried off some onion, mixed it with some ras el hanout and harissa paste and a dollop of tomato puree then added the peepers and tomato.

add peppers

a little water, cooked it out and thickened it up with some lamb gravy granules.

tagine sauce

When the meatballs were done, I took them out, put a little boiling water in the pan to scrape up the meaty bits and added that to the sauce..

I served the meatball on a cucumber, mint and herby chickpea cous cous

chickpea cous cous

and coated them with the tagine style sauce.

sauce

Then I scattered over some crunchy roast chickpeas that I’d put in the oven for a bit..

add chick peas

I served them with pitta bread, not homemade I’m afraid

with pitta

Bloody gorgeous..

