Tags

, , , , , ,

Now I don’t cock up often, but when I do, it’s a spectacular cock up, after all if you are going to create a hideous disaster, might as well go the whole hog..

Tuesday was Shrove Tuesday, Mr 5 nicely asked if this year I’d make him some pancakes and seeing as the last couple of years I’ve made rubbish excuses and haven’t, I said yes..

I made too much batter mix but that’s another dinner..

I decided to have fish and potato rough for dinner, If we were going to gorge on pancakes then I didn’t want anything too fancy, I didn’t bother with many photos, the fish was lightly dusted cod from Tesco and the potatoes, a dish I’ve already made before, with the addition of a purple potato and a handful of leftover chickpeas from the lamb..

pot rough

It was very nice and I didn’t feel too stuffed that making pancakes after would be a chore.

with lemon

We had 4 each with lemon and sugar, I used a jif lemon for nostalgia, I’m not one for fart arsing about with various toppings and what not, I like them the way we had them as kids and fortunately so does Mr 5..

pancakes

Even Woofboy had one, he barked at his until it cooled down..

woofboy

The following evening, toad in the hole was the dish of the day seeing as I had a bucketful of batter to use up, I wasn’t going to take photos, I’ve already made toad in the hole before, this is what it’s meant to look like..

toad in the hole

This one, well it just wasn’t happening..
Now, I don’t cock up often, but when I do, it’s a spectacular cock up, after all if you are going to create a hideous disaster, might as well go the whole hog..

batter

I’m sure there were several factors, the dish was too small and I used too much batter, so it didn’t get going at all, I decided to take the sausages out

flop

I made some gravy and thought at least I’d could salvage it with a few aunt Bessie Yorkshires.

disaster

But the sausages weren’t Black Farmers, I don’t know why, I did puzzle over why I’d buy naff sausages as we started to eat them, inferior is the word that comes to mind, the whole thing was a mediocre dinner you’d probably expect in a supermarket canteen.

I decided to share this crap dinner, just so you know that sometimes things don’t go according to plan and we all fuck up sometimes..

