Tags

, , , , , ,

but as ever I was about 5 hours late getting it started and by the time I did

On Thursday I was going to make this, Usain Bolt’s jerk pork recipe as seen on Jamie and Jimmies food thingy, but as ever I was about 5 hours late getting it started and by the time I did  it was a case of chucking the pork belly into a roasting bag just to get it in the oven and started..
I coated the pork in jerk seasoning and then decided what I was going to do with it instead..

pork in bag

So this is

Not Usain Bolts Jerk pork:

While the pork was cooking I decided to make a jerk sauce along the lines of the tagine style sauce from Lamb on monday and I still had some chickpeas to use up.

jerk pork prep

I browned some onion and added some spicy season all and peppers, a decent splash of rum which I reduced and then added some tomatoes and chickpeas.

toms and chickpeas

Then passata and a little chicken gravy to make a sauce.

sauce

once the pork was done

cook pork

I added it to the sauce, let it cook out for a short while and served it with little baked, new poatoes.

with pots

It was lovely, perhaps next time I’ll make Usain’s recipe..

pork with sauce

