Tags

, , , , , ,

we were meant to meet up one day and you were going to show me how to cook chilli properly,

This post is dedicated to Evangaline Salisman, long time online friend from across the pond who liked my 5 kinds and always appreciated my Texan chilli recipe attempts, who sadly passed away yesterday, she had a great sense of humour and would appreciate me saying, Bloody hell Frass, we were meant to meet up one day and you were going to show me how to cook chilli properly, I can’t believe you went and died on us.

One of my favourite flavours is taco seasoning, I don’t know if it tastes the same world wide though and I doubt a genuine Texican would even recognise it, my Texan friend would probably laugh and say, call that a chilli you limey, but I just love the taste, so to make up for the disappointing chicken livers I decided to use up some more filo pastry and make a taco chilli filo pie using the method I’d used for the pizza..

I had some rice left over from the night before, so I added that in with the chilli..

Taco chilli filo pie:

taco chilli filo bake prep

I made a chilli using taco seasoning, tomatoes, peppers, onions and half a tin of refried beans

taco chilli

Then I mixed in some cooked rice and let it cool down a little bit, after which I layered it into a dish with some filo pastry sheets.

layer with filo

added some cheese.

add chz

and baked it in the oven until it looked like this.

melt chz

I served it with some salsa, shop bought for ease I’m afraid and some guacamole.

taco chilli filo pie

That was absolutely delicious

chilli bake

but as it is one of my favourite tastes I knew it would be, I just wish it had been bigger..

with guac

R.I.P Frassy…

