Tags

, , , , ,

but I prevailed, I have to admit there was a point where it looked like it was going to be a total mess,

I always thought that chicken Kiev was filled with garlic butter, I’ve even done a chicken Kiev dinner.
The other day I was watching the programme on Ch4, Food unwrapped with Jimmy Doherty and there was a segment on there where they went to a Factory in Kiev and it turns out an authentic Kiev is actually dill not garlic, so I decided to make them and see which one I preferred.

We spent all afternoon up the hospital, Mr 5 had gone for an x ray and because we have to rely on patient transport for an ambulance to take us and bring us back, what should have been an hours trip turned into a 4 hour ordeal of waiting about because the ambulance had broken down and red tape meant it took ages to get another, by the time we got in the thought of making Kievs wasn’t too appealing, but I prevailed, I have to admit there was a point where it looked like it was going to be a total mess, but they didn’t turn out badly at all..

But I think I prefer a garlic version.

Authentic chicken Kiev:

proper kiev

I made a slit in the chicken, unintentionally tearing through, I couldn’t be arsed to mix the dill into the butter so I just rammed it all in.

mess

at about this point it looked such a bloody mess I was tempted to make a sort of chicken dill gratin, but I faffed a bit and then got on with it.
I crumbed the chicken

crumb

and baked it in a hot oven in an oiled tray

not bad

Now that didn’t turn out as rubbish as I thought, I didn’t lose too much of the butter and what I did I just poured back over it.

dill

I served it with a jacket potato and mushroom

with mush

Very nice but I think it tastes far nicer with garlic.

kiev

I’m glad I made it though..

