Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

Mr 5 was a little less enthusiastic and said it was too ‘something’ for him but he could quite put his finger on what that something was, possibly the mixed spice I suspect.

I was in Waterstones the other day buying the last book in the Silo series, DUST, which I’ve not started to read yet, I’m still in the middle of another book so I’m saving it, I really do hope it becomes a film, if you haven’t read them and you like post apocalyptic dystopic sci fi , then this is for you and if you don’t, it’s still bloody brilliant, but I digress, while my mum was looking for a specific cook book I browsed through some to get ideas when I came across a book called ‘Snackistan’ which was a full of middle Eastern street food and such like, I took a couple of photos of recipes I liked the sound of which is how I found the inspiration for this meal, oh and if you can be bothered to look there is half a veggie version on the page too.

recipe

this is my version of Iraqi bread stew or

Tashreeb:

tashreeb prep

As I didn’t have any baharat I used the suggested substitute of mixed spice, along with some sumac and as there was lime in it, some lemon pepper seasoning too, I also chose to roast my shoulder of lamb separately for two reasons, mostly because it would remain lovely and crispy once in the sauce but also because I could pour of most of the fat after.

I cubed the lamb, seasoned it and stuck it in a roasting bag with some lime

lamb

then cooked it on low for about an hour and a half.

cook lamb

I fried off onion and then peppers, added the spices, cooked that a bit more then added the tomato puree

cook spices

let that infuse for a moment before adding some chopped coriander, basil and parsley and 3/4 of a beef tomato.

add toms

Mixed in some passata, a few dates I found, some red wine and let it simmer for half an hour.

dates

when the lamb was done, I added that to the sauce.

add lamb

I also chose to serve mine with cous cous, which I heaped onto the pitta bread

cous cous

added the stew

add stew

a few pomegranate seeds and a few pieces of pitta

with pom

I really enjoyed that, it’s not really that close to the recipe in that mine seems drier than most images I’ve subsequently googled, but it was really tasty, Mr 5 was a little less enthusiastic and said it was too ‘something’ for him but he could quite put his finger on what that something was, possibly the mixed spice I suspect.

stew

