Tags

, , , , , , , ,

about a million years later, some serious tutting and muttering under my breath, the rice was just cooked,

 

On Tuesday I had great idea to use up some of the wild rice I’d bought a while ago and although it was a nice dinner it wasn’t as fantastic as I envisaged because red Camargue and black venus rice take bloody ages to cook when not mixed with white rice, and I mean ages, like about 3 or 4 times as long, don’t ask me why I have no idea, and therefore the chicken over cooked and was a bit dry and the rice was a bit undercooked, all I need do is experiment with cooking times for the rice and perhaps next time it’ll be fantastic.

Chicken with red and black rice:

chix red rice prep

I had a whole chicken so I halved it for two dinners, I cut the half I was using for saute, which I did until it was brown and then put it in an dish with some seasoning, peppers and onion and put it in the oven.

saute

I cooked the rice in oil with some mushrooms and spring onions.

mush and spring onion

added some water and left it to simmer..

add water

about a million years later, some serious tutting and muttering under my breath, the rice was just cooked, I have to be careful with that sort of thing because technically Mr 5 is on a low residue diet, and this wasn’t not even close..

rice

I served the chicken with the rice, I can’t believe I forgot to add tomatoes to it either..

chix

We had some garlic and herb flat bread with it, very nice, albeit a little disappointing.

chicken and rice

On Wednesday I made

Cheaters Frito Misto:

Ideally I would have gone to the fishmongers, bought the seafood and crumbed them myself but this is reality and this was a quick dinner..

I got some scampi and goujons.

scampi

Horrors of horrors, party food, which normally I would never do..

party food

and some ready cooked mussels.

mussels1

I cooked it and served it with a few fries and the remaining flat bread..

seafood

it was lovely..

frito misto

and I also had an idea for something else next week..

mussels

Delicious..

