Tags

, , , , ,

I know I could/should/would support my local butcher and buy from them but by the time I’ve driven out to one, which isn’t actually local at all, my carbon footprint is half way across the county

I bought some veal, Tesco finally had some escalopes, I know I could/should/would support my local butcher and buy from them but by the time I’ve driven out to one, which isn’t actually local at all, my carbon footprint is half way across the county, so Tesco it is..

It came with a bag of Sicilian lemon and something or other crumb coating, so I decide to use it seeing as it was there.

Veal escalope with cheesy prosciutto dauphinoise:

veal prep

I made a start with the potatoes and as I was running a bit late I wanted them to cook quickly so I decided to put them in a muffin tin, which I lined with prosciutto.

prosciutto

added layers of potato slices,onion,garlic and seasoning, then topped them up with creme fraiche.

addpotatoes

I baked them until the potato softened, then topped them with red Leicester and stuck them back in while I cooked the crumbed veal, instead of using an egg I used more of the creme fraiche.

crumb

It didn’t take long

cook

I served it with some braised leeks and mushrooms..

braised leeks

and the potatoes, which turned out really nicely..

potatoes

The topping had quite a strong lemon flavour with was surprising but very yummy.

veal escalope

I thoroughly enjoyed that, it’s a shame I don’t have a local butcher actually.

