Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I am trying to get my shit together and I still have a bucket list of things I am meaning to get round to doing, so I shall just muddle along

So much for remembering to count on from dinner 319 The mild curry fish soup, I only just remembered and had a quick count up, dinner 365 was round about the Jerk pork recipe I did and I’m on about 375 now..

So now I’ve achieved that challenge; Yay to me!!!; it is possible to eat something different for dinner every night without too much hassle, I’ll have to think of something else, I must admit that I have been a bit lax with taking photos and blogging of late, but I am trying to get my shit together and I still have a bucket list of things I am meaning to get round to doing, so I shall just muddle along until I am truly out of unique ideas, I don’t think I’ve done too badly after all that has happened in the last year and 6 months of those dinner I had alone, we haven’t really eaten the same thing twice, unless it’s a roast dinner or sausage, egg and chips..
and on that note, this is a

Bottomless chicken pie:

I used the other half of the chicken from the red rice dish a couple of days before.

pie prep

I chucked it into a pan with some carrot, leek, onions and chicken bovril and simmered it for half an hour, then left it to stand for about 3 hours, not intentional, just how time went.

stock

I cooked off some diced leek, carrot and onion along with some dried sage in butter

sauce base

added some flour to make a roux and used it as a base for the sauce, which I used the chicken stock in.

I added the chicken off the bone, some peas, mushrooms and sweetcorn and put it into a flan tin

pie filling

which I topped with some ready roll puff pastry, brushed with beaten egg

pastry

I baked it in the oven for about half an hour and took out a monster..

monster

Which was gorgeous..

chix pie

We had it with jacket potatoes and a handful of salad

with jacket

Next time I am going to make an effort and made short crust pastry for the bottom like I did with the steak pies.

