Tags

, , , , ,

I think my dough needed to be thinner, I shall certainly have another attempt, that said, this was a very nice pizza indeed..

I made pork, lemon and oregano chops the other day, I served it with a tomato and mozzarella salad

pork salad

it was really yummy, the pork was kept moist with the lemon juice.

pork with mush

Which meant that I had some tomato and mozzarella to use up..


A few years ago there used to be an Italian pizza / pasta restaurant in town called Ciao Baby Cucina and they did the most amazing thin and crispy pizza, as with everything great it went out of business and was replaced with a pizza express, not so great, I decided the other evening to see if I could try and recreate their thin crust pizza.

I couldn’t, I think my dough needed to be thinner, I shall certainly have another attempt, that said, this was a very nice pizza indeed..

Not thin enough thin crust pizza:

I made a dough using 300g strong white bread flour, 1 tsp dried yeast, 1 tsp salt, 1 tbsp olive oil and 200ml water and although it said it didn’t matter if it was left to prove, I left mine for 2 hours while I went on an epic scamper with the boy..

pizza prep

Because I wanted to try to recreate the Ciao Baby pizza I kept the toppings to a minimum, like they did,
a smearing of tomato puree, some left over port salut and mozzarella from the night before pork, some basil and tomatoes

chz

Then I added some prosciutto

proscitto

I cooked it

thin crust

But, it wasn’t quite thin enough, I must practice more..

not quite thin

that is not to say it wasn’t really delicious, I had it with a garlic ciabatta and pepper slaw.

slaw

I think I shall add that to my new challenges, thin and crispy pizza base..

