Tags

, , , , , , , , , , , ,

some pomegranate seeds, dried apricots, some pistachio nuts I remembered I had and some of these yummy chana dal chick pea snack

I bought some bulgar wheat and cous cous mix while shopping last week, it’s about time they started doing things I want and need, which meant I didn’t have to buy and find the space to store one of each, my cupboards are groaning under the weight of the many things I keep getting, I need a bigger house..

I decided to make a tabbouleh, some pitta bread to go with it and serve it with some chicken and lots of crunchy, yummy toppings.

The pitta bread, my dough making skills have improved considerably since my first venture into the world of flat bread, was just 250g flour, mixed with a tsp of salt, a 7g satchet of yeast, 2 tsp olive oil, some nigella seeds and 260 ml water, I left it to rise for a couple of hours while I went on an epic scamper, the bluebells are starting to come into flower and I’m looking forward to a yomp through some bluebell woods presently, how exciting am I..lol.

pitta

Harissa chicken with a bulgar wheat and cous cous tabbouleh:

While I was making the dough I marinated the chicken in some Harissa and ras el hanout paste.

harrissa chix tabb prep

I put it in the oven on a trivet of peppers and red onion to cook.

chix on peppers

I made up the cous cous and bulgar wheat, adding a big knob of butter to the water and mixed in cucumber, chopped parsley, basil and mint, some dried mixed herbs, Moroccan seasoning, tomato and onion.

tabbouleh

When the chicken was done I put the peppers, onion and some left over feta cheese from the turkey falafel on top.

feta and peppers

Then added the sliced chicken, some pomegranate seeds, dried apricots, some pistachio nuts I remembered I had and some of these yummy chana dal chick pea snack I picked up the day before..

channa dall

They are gorgeous, really spicy and yum..

chicken

That was gorgeous, it was really tasty, everything just went together perfectly..

Harrissa chicken

