Tags

, , , , , , , , , ,

I had my reservations, it didn’t smell very nice, it didn’t look very nice and I was wondering what we could have instead

I have been meaning to make corned beef hash for ages, I had a tin of the stuff in the cupboard for that very reason, when I say corned beef, I mean the processed, every household has a tin stuff corned beef, not proper corned beef..

Every time I go to make it I have second thoughts and don’t fancy it, but I finally got round to it, I used my mums boyfriends recipe, he said he’d tried several variations and though this was the best, so rather than bother to scour the internet, I did what he does..

All the while it was cooking I had my reservations, it didn’t smell very nice, it didn’t look very nice and I was wondering what we could have instead if it tasted as hideous as it smelled, but always the optimist, I forged ahead..

Corned beef hash:

hash prep

As half of the potatoes were already par boiled for a roast the day before but didn’t get used, I microwaved the others first, fried them with the onion and then added the corn beef.

add beef

Up until this point it was looking really good, then I mushed it down and added some peas..

mush down

and I was beginning to have my doubts, but I fried it all off

hash

and served it with fried eggs..

with fried eggs

it was ok, I wont make it again, I’m not sure what I thought but corned beef is best in a sandwich with some cream cheese and salad..

That said I just googled it and apparently I should have fried it more so it was really quite brown and crispy, but as I wont be making it again, it doesn’t matter..


The following evening I made a seafood platter to use up the last of the bits from the frito misto a few weeks back, this time though, I had some green lipped mussels cooked with white wine,garlic and onion

mussels

and some whitebait which I bought on line from a fish place..

whitebait

it was gorgeous and I still have half a bag of fish and 3/4 of mussels in the freezer..

seafood platter

