Tags

, , ,

The pastry kept the meat lovely and rare, which we both really like, but I could have cooked the meat a little longer first off if I’d wanted it medium..

This was a nice dinner, I’ve been meaning to do it for a while now, so when I was in Tesco and saw they were selling beef fillet pieces quite cheaply, this was a 170g piece for £3.71, I bought it with this in mind, it looks quite difficult but it was really easy to make..

Beef and pate wellington:

beef wellington en croute prep

Firstly I browned the meat in a pan quickly and left it to cool a bit, put a piece of Ardennes pate onto a square of puff pastry, ready rolled I’m afraid.

pate

Wrapped the pastry round the beef, which I’d cut in half, egg washed it.

egg wash

and put it in the oven until the pastry was golden, I made a red wine and mushroom sauce

redwine sauce

put the little wellingtons on top

en croute with pots

served it with some salad leaves and little roasties and it was delicious.

roasties

The pastry kept the meat lovely and rare, which we both really like, but I could have cooked the meat a little longer first off if I’d wanted it medium..

beef en croute

