Tags

, , , , ,

they needed a name and a friend of mine on face book came up with ‘Bunion potatoes’, which I thought quite funny, so that’s what they are..

I popped into Lidl when I went shopping last week to get some bread rolls, they have a really nice selection, all freshly par baked, lol. and ended up buying a couple of doughnuts too, oh and some pain au chocolate, then I had a quick look in the meat section and picked up a 4 pack of quail which I’ve been on the look out for ages and not been able to get anywhere so far, £5.99 for four, which isn’t too bad, so I did them en croute, using a left over roll and some of the pate I used for the beef wellington things..

Quail en croute:

quial prep

I spatchcocked the quail and seasoned them well.

spatchcock quails

I made a potato dish to go with them, which consisted of sliced potatoes on a bed of bacon and onion.

potatoes

they needed a name and a friend of mine on face book came up with ‘Bunion potatoes’, which I thought quite funny, so that’s what they are..

While they were roasting, I cooked the quail, which only took about 10 to 15 minutes and a made a red wine and red currant jelly sauce.
I prepared the pate croute.

pate croute

popped the quail on top.

roast

added a few mushrooms and the sauce

quail

served them up with the potatoes which I baked until golden brown

pots

and the whole thing was delicious, I’ve not had quail before, it had a similar texture to rabbit I thought..

quail en croute

Little bit fiddly to eat, so we just dived in using our fingers..

quail breast

I might get them again and make a chassuer with them..

