Tags

, , , ,

but technically it isn’t and I added some left over ham to it just to make sure that it wasn’t,

I’ve heard of chicken Alfredo but never had it, I just knew it was a chicken pasta dish, as ever, if I don’t know what something is I google image it, I get a far better idea of what something is doing it this way, then I go and research it, it seems that over the years it has been changed so much it doesn’t actually resemble the original recipe at all in fact the original recipe was called Fettuccine Alfredo and didn’t have chicken in it, or broccoli, which seems to be quite a popular addition, so some people might say this is chicken Alfredo, but technically it isn’t and I added some left over ham to it just to make sure that it wasn’t, so this is

Definitely not chicken Alfredo:

not chix alf prep

I gathered together some left overs, a piece of baked ham I’d cooked for sandwiches earlier in the week, I had some out of date cream and an egg from something or other, so I used that with some peppers and a few spring onions, I roasted a chicken breast to cut up and add to the sauce..

I cooked the peppers and spring onions off, then added the mushrooms and ham.

ham

to that I added the cream and egg, which I mixed together with a splash of white wine first along with some pasta water to stop it scrambling, which it nearly did a couple of times, the trick is to keep it on a very low heat..

add cream egg

To that I added the chicken and some grated cheddar and red Leicester.

chix

Made sure the chicken was coated in sauce and served it on tagliatelle.

not chicken alf

with some garlic baguette

gb

and it was very delicious indeed.

on tag

Definitely not Chicken Alfredo and not a floret of broccoli in sight.

