Tags

, , , , , ,

Jesus Christ what a bloody palaver, really wasn’t worth the buggering about and next time I fancy a MITMFC, I’ll buy a ready made one

I’ve been meaning to make melt in the middle fishcakes for ages and I don’t mean, stick a bit of cheese in a fishcake melt in the middle fish cakes, but proper ones like the Saucy Fish co do..

Jesus Christ what a bloody palaver, really wasn’t worth the buggering about and next time I fancy a MITMFC, I’ll buy a ready made one and pass it off as a quick meal for when I’ve been out to my mums all day now I’ve finally organised respite care for once a week and can’t be bothered to cook, they were really delicious, don’t get me wrong, but very messy and time consuming, some things are best left unmade.

Smoked cod melting middle fishcakes

As I had some mash left over from a roast pork dinner I made on Sunday I thought I’d use it up for these which was a mistake because it was shop bought and was a bit wet despite trying to dry it out, that’s probably why they were such a bugger to make and also because the fish was frozen, I was going to buy fresh but as it was a Bank Holiday I went to Tesco on Tuesday and ‘Helen’ the fish monger is there, she knows Mr 5 from school, so whenever I see her for some reason she feels the need to talk at me, for ever, she just doesn’t shut up about herself and I really couldn’t be bothered to deal with it that morning, so everything was just a bit damp ..

mmfcakes prep

First of all I made a really thick cheese sauce which I put in the freezer while I made the fish mix.

I lightly cooked the fish in the microwave, flaked it, drained as much of the excess liquid out as possible and mixed it into the mash along with some finally chopped spring onion and a little bit of bread sauce in the hope it would bind it all together.

fish mix

Then I put some of the solid sauce in the middle of each.

sauce

and shaped it into a fishcake, it was too damp to mold really well..

shape

I crumbed them and stuck them on a roasting tray to bake, where they spread, and mutated into massive great big monstrosities.

bake

I served them with some stir fried veggies and noodles..

stirfry

They were lovely, the middle did melt..

fishcakes

but I shant be making them again anytime soon..

melting middle

