Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

he’s been like a puppy, bounding about all over the place, which of course I’m glad of, he’s 11, but I’m hoping to get a few more years out of him yet..

Last Sunday I had a craving for roast pork and mash, so I made a special trip to Tesco to get some and while I was at it took woofboy to the woods nearby, I haven’t been there in years and it’s surprising how different a wood can be 30 years on, I’m sure it was much darker and scarier when I was 12, it probably was, the boy had a whale of a time though, which is good news, he hasn’t been well and last week we finally got a diagnosis, he has Exocrine pancreatic insufficiency, which explains pretty much everything from the excessive eating, drinking and scavenging bread out of the local duck pond to the getting up at 3 in the morning to stand in the street while he poo’d for England, lol, Once the medication and hideously expensive prescription diet food kicked in the change was remarkable, he’s been like a puppy, bounding about all over the place, which of course I’m glad of, he’s 11, but I’m hoping to get a few more years out of him yet..

doodlebug

Anyway, back to the pork, I bought a small piece of belly and roasted it along with some parsnips, carrots, stuffing and an apple, had mash and braised leeks too, no picture, I’ve done a roast pork before, I stuck the left over piece in the fridge and on Thursday decided I’d better use it up, so this is

Porky bean unwraps:

I bought some of those Warburton square wraps while shopping

wraps

and decided to make something along the lines of the tostadas and pittadas

I made a spicy bean sauce using onions, peppers and spicy season all, then added a few diced tomatoes.

add toms

Cooked it out and emptied in half a tin of spicy beans and a swish of water in the empty can, diced up the pork and put that in and let it simmer for 10 minutes..

add pork

Then it was a case of spooning it on to the warmed wraps

mix on wraps

topping with some grate comte and spring onion.

with cheese

I served them with noisette and chana dal potatoes.

chana dal noisettes

Pictures weren’t great, but the dinner was, I might have a go at making some square wraps next week..

porky bean unwraps

