Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

I’ve called it fondue soup simply because it was a cheesy soup with bread dipped in it..

I wasn’t sure Mr 5 would like this, he’s a bit funny when it comes to cheese sauce, so I didn’t know if a cheesy soup would be his thing, but I made it anyway and he said he liked it.
I’ve called it fondue soup simply because it was a cheesy soup with bread dipped in it..

Fondue soup

I had roasted a chicken carcass I’d put in the freezer after cutting up a chicken a few weeks ago, the night before and used it along with some turkey stock I found in the freezer.

fondue soup prep

I sweated off the veggies and made a roux

make roux

added the turkey stock and some white wine to make a thin sauce and finished it with some cream, stirred in the chicken meat and some panchetta I cooked in the oven until crisp.

add cheese

I gently cooked it all out making sure it didn’t thicken up too much, I wanted a soup consistency rather than a sauce.

mix chz

Then I poured it into bowls

soup

topped it with warm, chunks of ciabatta bread

add bread

and some Parmesan

with parmesan

it was really yummy, I thoroughly enjoyed it..

fondue

The following day, or it might have been the previous day I made a pork in calvados sauce dish, that was delicious too.

pork in calvados

