Tags

, , , , , ,

Now that I have gotten over the idea that mince in a cream sauce is wrong,

I would never have dreamed of making this and when I saw the recipe in my mums Good Housekeeping 1001 things to do with mince recipe book, ok so that’s probably an exaggeration, it was probably 999 things to do with mince knowing the Good Housekeeping people, my first reaction was to go urghh, mince beef in a cream sauce, that sounds awful, then I had a think about it and decided it would fine, just like a beef stroganoff but with mince instead of steak, so this dish sounds wrong, but is in actual fact really very yummy and cheaper than steak..

Minced beef in a creamy mushroom and wholegrain mustard sauce.

mince strog prep

I decided to do it with red Camargue rice seeing as I still have a ton of the stuff in the cupboard..

red rice

It was really easy too, I browned the mince and drained off the fat and put it to one side, the mince, not the fat.

I cooked some pink onion and mushrooms in butter, added wholegrain mustard and a good glug of Calvados and reduced it..

reduce calva

Added the mince, added cream and gently cooked it until the sauce had thickened..

add mince

and that was it really.

rice and mince

I served it with the rice and a piece of garlic flatbread I found in the freezer..

with flatbread

Now that I have gotten over the idea that mince in a cream sauce is wrong, I think I’ll have a few new ideas up my sleeve..

close strog

