Tags

, , , , , , ,

Dear lord, wasn’t I dehydrated all night, had a terrible food hangover this morning, I just think I’m not used to all the crap they put in things and this is why, apart from fish and chips, I rarely eat takeaways..

It’s not that I haven’t cooked since last week, obviously I have, I just haven’t really made anything of note since the seafood soup, Mr 5 finally made it out into the garden last Thursday, I think it was; we’d bought a wheelchair ramp because our tiny postage stamp ‘courtyard’ garden is on 3 levels so it was impossible up until then and as it was such a nice morning and he was feeling up to sitting in his wheelchair for more than 20 minutes we decided to try it out, it was a resounding success, except because of the height/ length ratio of the ramp there was very little turning space, so I bought a hippo bag and have spent the last week completely revamping the garden, getting rid of tons of stuff and generally making it as wheelchair friendly as possible considering the size, so by the time dinner comes round I just can’t be arsed..

Hopefully now that’s done he’ll feel up to coming out into the garden for dinner one evening and I can cook something marvelous..

In the mean time,

This was dinner for last week:

Our first BBQ..
Yay!!! I had to use a disposal one because I couldn’t get to ours, I marinated some lamb ribs in harissa and ras el hanout paste

lamb ribs

and BBQ’d them with some potatoes and peppers..

bbq

it was lovely and I’m looking forward to many more..

bbq lamb

I love the idea of lamb ribs, I got these from Morrisons

with peppers

In fact, while I was there, I picked up some beef ribs and simply roasted them in a bag as I did in this recipe and 20 minutes before they were ready, split the bag, added some onions, mushrooms and Worcestershire sauce and served them with jacket potatoes.

ribs and jp

and dead cheap too, £ quid for 4 ribs I think.

ribs

This dinner was made from a freezer rummage, I don’t even remember what day it was, Mr 5 had a venison burger, I found a parcel of veal mince and made it into a burger by squishing it together, served with onions, mozzarella and prosciutto in a deli flat bread thing with fries..

onions

That was nice..

burger

and as I had two ganache cubes left over, this time I made sunken vanilla souffle with melting chocolate middle, they weren’t meant to be sunken, they just did, nevertheless, very nice indeed..

sunked choc middle pud

and finally, catching up to Monday, it was Mr 5’s 50th birthday, obviously not being able to go out and him not feeling up for visitors I asked him what he wanted for dinner and he chose a Szeuchan feast from the local posh Chinese, I was a tiny bit put out that he didn’t want me to cook anything special..

It was nice, there was loads of it, personally I think it tastes better in the restaurant, but it wasn’t my birthday..

hees feast

There was loads left over, I’ve saved them for a huge stir fry on Wednesday, although I’m not sure I fancy it now.

Dear lord, wasn’t I dehydrated all night, had a terrible food hangover this morning, I just think I’m not used to all the crap they put in things and this is why, apart from fish and chips, I rarely eat takeaways, it was so salty, I don’t use a lot of salt in my food so it was really noticable..

Next time I’m going to attempt to make my own..

and that is my catch up..

