Tags

, , , , , , ,

Even if I say so myself, it was very tasty, not too hot, but nicely spicy.

I decided it was time to start making an effort, so this is my attempt at an effort, as I’m going to my friends for 24 hrs of respite this weekend I’d bought a ready meal dinner for Sunday because I generally have a shocking hangover and don’t feel like cooking, I bought Mr 5 a Chinese curry and myself a chicken Korma along with some Indian snacks and naan bread, I used half of them up with this rather yummy, not too hot, but quite spicy mince lamb dish.

Lamb Madras naan:

madras lamb naan prep

I cooked some cardamon, cumin, mustard and coriander seeds in a dry pan first, then crushed them in a mortar, then added to them to some onions and minced lamb I’d fried off.

with spices

to that I added some cooked lentils, madras curry powder and peppers

add lentils

after cooking it for a few minutes I added some fresh chopped tomatoes, a dollop of tomato puree and a splash of water, I wanted to keep it fairly dry.

cook out

I piled it onto the naan bread.

on naan

and garnished it with a Kachumber salad and crunchy chana dahl

chana dahl

and finished it with yogurt

madras lamb naan

I served it with the Indian snacks, samosa, pakora and onion bharjee, which I keep promising myself I’ll make one of these days.

snack selection

lamb naan

Even if I say so myself, it was very tasty, not too hot, but nicely spicy, I think I made a decent effort..

close up

The day before I decided to use up all the Chinese takeaway leftovers in a stir fry, it was ok, filled a gap..

leftover chinese

