Tags

, , , , ,

I still wasn’t quite sure where I was going with it, so I just totally blagged it, hence the name

The other evening mr i asked for something plain because he was feeling a bit grotty and didn’t feel like anything too fancy, I had a piece of turbot in the freezer so I baked it in the oven for him and served it with peas and jersey royals.

turbot

I decided to take the opportunity and have pasta, I wanted to use up some of the giant penne I’d bought for the al forno dish I made a while ago, I had some prosciutto, mozzarella and frozen spinach that I could use it in, but even as I started I still wasn’t quite sure where I was going with it, so I just totally blagged it, hence the name

penne blaghetti

spinach pasta prep

I softened the spinach in a pan with some oil, added some cherry tomatoes.

spinach and toms

chucked in some Parmesan dipper from the oil and vinegar shop, then remember I had some pasta sauce in the freezer which I hastily defrosted in the microwave and added that to it, once it had cooked out a little I put the cooked penne and some of it’s water in, gave it a good mix up

add tom sauce

and then added the mozzarella

pasta

I served it up with the prosciutto on top, I crisped that up in the oven and some Parmesan ..

with parmesan

and despite thinking it was going to be a bit naff, I surprised myself, it was bloody gorgeous.
I did a garlic ciabatta

garlic bread

and was really glad I’d made it.

spinach penne

