Tags

, , , , , , ,

I have absolutely no qualms about using ready made pastry, I’m no pastry snob, as much as homemade is lovely, it’s still time consuming

I was going through the freezer on Sunday to see what I needed from shopping and came across a half used packet of puff pastry, I though I’d better use it up before it dried out too much, I have absolutely no qualms about using ready made pastry, I’m no pastry snob, as much as homemade is lovely, it’s still time consuming and best left to simple things like short or sweet crust if you ask me, I had a mind to make some sausage rolls with it, but while in Tesco on the Monday I saw some tail end filet pieces going cheap and thought, I know what, I’ll make

Beef Wellington rolls:

So I bought some, 5oz for about £3 something, which wasn’t too bad..
As woofboy was having a wash and cut in the afternoon I decided to make them well in advance, which is why the photos are a little sparse..

I made up a mushroom duxelle, once it had cooled down I mixed in some Ardennes pate.

I put the steak down the middle of the pastry

fillet

and then topped it with a line of the pate and mushroom mix, there is no image of that but I’m sure you can imagine.

Then rolled it up like a sausage roll, having recently had a manicure for the first time in about 5 years I’ve discovered trying to do anything slightly messy is really difficult because I keep worry about my lovely polished nails, probably why my dinners have been a bit unadventurous this last few weeks..

Anyway, I egg washed them and left them in the fridge until I was ready to cook them..

egg wash

As I still had time before I had to collect the boy, I made some panna cotta using this recipe..

I also made up a red wine sauce too.

Woofboy came back looking incredibly pleased with himself for having had a wash and trim.

woofboy

So when dinner time came round it was a simple case of baking the rolls.

bake

and serving them with some roasted new potatoes and the red wine sauce.

with pots

and even if I say so myself, it was really delicious, cheap, really easy to make but looked rather impressive for a Monday night dinner.

inside

and the panna cotta, which I served with a raspberry and blackberry coulis was delicious too.

panna cotta

