Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

It was gorgeous, the dalh just made it that little bit more moist, otherwise I think it would have been too dry..

I was having a tidy up the other day and came across a tandoori seasoning I’d bought a few weeks ago and forgot I had so I thought I’d do Tandoori chicken and rice, while I was at it I bought some paneer because I’d not had it before, it’s really just an Indian version of halloumi actually, I was looking for lentil dahl but they didn’t have any so I got some chickpea instead..

So this is an incredibly simply but very tasty

Tandoori chicken with paneer and chickpea dahl.

tandoori chix and paneer

I mixed some seasoning with yogurt and oil earlier in the day and then marinated the chicken and a few slices of cheese for a few hours, then baked it along with some peppers and onions.

cook chix

I plain boiled some basmati rice to serve it with along with some lime pickle, red onion, raita and tamarillo ..

dips

and when it was brown, served it on the rice.

chicken and cheese

with the chickpea dahl

chickpea dahl

Which was really nice..

tandoori everything

Then it was just a case of heaping it full of all the yummy bits and some mini poppadums and naan bread…

yogurt

It was gorgeous, the dalh just made it that little bit more moist, otherwise I think it would have been too dry..
Without the chicken, just using the cheese you could have a delicious vegetarian option.

heap on dahl

