Tags

, , , , , , ,

and baked it for 10 minutes or so, as I’ve never baked cous cous before I wasn’t sure how long it would take to bugger it up, but that seemed quite sufficient not to have buggered it up..

I’ve called this North African Shepherds pie, not because there is such a thing, I don’t think there is anyway, who knows, but because everything needs a name and this is as good as one as any and it has minced lamb in it, I’ve been meaning to make it for a while now and finally decided to get my finger out and do it after reading a shepherds pie blog post the other day where she had perked it up with some Indian spices..

I have to say, it was gorgeous and I ate far more than I ought to..

North African shepherds pie

This was another easy dinner and didn’t really take that long to do either.

shep pie prep

I made up a savoury mince using my 3 stage method, that being the one where, after frying of the mince, adding the onion and peppers and cooking those for a few minutes with a dollop each of harrisa and ras el hanout paste, everything else gets chucked in, the tomatoes, chopped herbs and chickpeas and water from the chickpeas

cook lamb

and cooked down until it looks like this

lamb mince

Then I covered it in steamed cous cous and a few channa dahl

with coucous

and baked it for 10 minutes or so, as I’ve never baked cous cous before I wasn’t sure how long it would take to bugger it up, but that seemed quite sufficient not to have buggered it up..

with chick peas on top

I served it with some cubes of baked halloumi, which I’ve finally used up and some pomegranate..

Delicious

with halloumi

I really did enjoy that.

yum

