Tags

, , , , , ,

I’d spent the day having a kitchen tidy up and found the menu in my crap drawer and as I’d just cleaned the oven and didn’t feel like messing it up straight away

This dinner was put together using leftovers, I had some basmati rice and chickpea dahl in the freezer left from the Tandoori chicken and some chicken from the evening before, we’d ordered a takeaway piri piri chicken, I’d spent the day having a kitchen tidy up and found the menu in my crap drawer and as I’d just cleaned the oven and didn’t feel like messing it up straight away so decided to try this new place out, It was very nice, but nothing I couldn’t do myself, but that’s the point isn’t it, that I didn’t do it myself..

I also had a few peppers in the freezer, half an onion and potato that needed using up and some Shah malay biryani seasoning that was coming up to it’s use by date..

So I decided to make

Leftover chicken biryani:

 

biryani leftover prep

I fried off some onion, added grated ginger, turmeric and galangal and the diced potato

cook pots

Then the spices and tomatoes

add spices

the peppers and some yogurt, cooked that out for a moment

add yog

before adding the chickpeas and a little water

add dahl

then I simmered it down, added the chicken

add chicken

and heated that through

add water cook

put the rice on top, stuck it in the over for 10 minutes

add rice

and it was done..

biryani

That would have worked just as well without the chicken for a vegetarian option.

My friend kindly humoured me and sent me the photos of his mums authentic Jamaican fish curry, I think he was taking the piss, I know full well he comes from Grenada and I doubt they have a co op..

But this is what he made for dinner, I think it’s a really good idea, and judging by the two pics he sent, not that difficult to make.

Mackerel and tomato curry:

curry prep

I should imagine it is just a case of frying off the onions, tomatoes and curry powder, adding the tinned fish and simmering it for a few minutes, before serving it on rice..

I think I might make that for myself one day..

curry prep b

