Tags

, , , , , , ,

I had no intention of blogging this next dish which is why there are only 2 photos, but it was so tasty that I think it fair to share it, oh and dead easy too..

I’m blogging these to things not because you need to know how to make a sandwich or use up and out of date tin of oxtail soup, but because both were really delicious and might offer some inspiration..

I asked Mr 5 what he wanted for dinner and surprisingly he didn’t ask for either chilli or seafood risotto, which he usually does but one of the baguettes they do in cafe Rouge, we still haven’t quite got round to leaving the house with out patient transport ambulance service yet, but we are slowly practicing sitting in wheel chair for 45 minutes in the hope we will be able to go there by taxi, scoff down our lunch and get back home before Mr 5 passes out with pain, so far we reckon that would happen about half way through lunch and have a way to go..
Anyway, as ever I decided to make something totally different, but we both enjoyed it nevertheless..

Not a Cafe Rouge steak baguette

steak sarnie prep

Instead of a baguette I bought a rye, spelt and wholewheat bloomer type loaf, toasted it, thickly buttered it, smeared it in English mustard on one side, Mr 5 had Dijon because he’s a lightweight when it comes to mustard, and Caesar dressing and shredded little gem lettuce on the other side.

mustard

added some crispy friend onions

onions

the steak

steak

served it with chunky chips

sandwich

and devoured it, it was delicious..

with chunky chips

So nothing like a Cafe rouge steak baguette at all..

I had no intention of blogging this next dish which is why there are only 2 photos, but it was so tasty that I think it fair to share it, oh and dead easy too..

I diced up some casserole steak, put it into a casserole with some onion and mushrooms, topped it with red wine and water, put the lid on and stuck it in the oven for 3 hours on 125ºc, then I turned it up to 150ºc for another 2 hours so by the time I was ready for it the meat was all falling to bits..

I removed most of the stock and saved it for another day, added a tin of slightly out of date oxtail soup and then let it simmer and reduce down a bit for about half an hour so it was still soupy..

oxtail

Then I topped it with bubble and squeak patties that I made from the day before’s leftover roast dinner veggies

with bubble

it was truly delicious, real comfort food that didn’t take much effort at all..

