Tags

, , , , ,

I left it to rise for about 3 hours, then I knocked it back, badly shaped it and left it to rise a bit while I made the casserole

On Monday I needed to use up the left over roast pork from Saturday, usually I turn it into a chilli of sorts but I’ve blogged that before, so I decided to use it in a jerk casserole seeing as I had half a bottle of marinade left over from summer.

I was trying to think of how to make and serve it that would be different to all the other ways I’ve done and as I’ve not made bread in ages, this seemed like a perfect solution..

I made the bread dough in the afternoon, using a previous recipe for Jerk chicken

I left it to rise for about 3 hours, then I knocked it back, badly shaped it and left it to rise a bit while I made the casserole

bread2

Jerk pork casserole on coco bread:

jerk pork coco prep

I made the sauce first by frying off onions, then peppers and then adding some rice to bulk it out a bit

add rice

To that I added some jerk seasoning, cherry tomatoes, half a tin of tomatoes, half a tin of mixed beans, the jerk marinade and some left over gravy from Saturday

beans and toms

Topped it up with water

add water

Then simmered it until the rice had cooked, then I added the pork.

add pork

I let that simmer for the 15 minutes

cook

it took to bake the bread..

bread

which I opened and served the jerk pork onto.

with beans

I topped it with some crunchy broad bean snack I found in Tesco

on coco

it was bloody gorgeous, even Mr 5 finished all of his which is quite unusual for him..

