Tags

, , , ,

Apart from the prep being complete chaos, these were really one of the nicest things I’ve ever made, they were truly amazing..

Bloody hell, I’ve been doing this blog for two years now, seems a lot longer than that, have to admit I’ve been struggling to maintain it this last few months, but I’m trying to get back into the swing of it, I have a two page food bucket list to get through, I didn’t realise quite how long it would take to get back into a routine with Mr 5.

Anyway, I had the inspiration for this after watching Jamies chicken Kiev recipe last week and seeing Thiswasdinners Meatball Korma recipe.

As I had some veal mince in the freezer I combined that with a chicken breast I whizzed up in the blender, there is no prep photo on account I was in a hideous muddle because originally it was just veal until I realised there wasn’t enough and had to defrost the chicken in the microwave pretty sharpish.

Veal and chicken kiev meatballs:

Apart from the prep being complete chaos, these were really one of the nicest things I’ve ever made, they were truly amazing..
I cheated and used up some rosti things I had in the freezer, but that gave gave me an idea for a potato dish, so all was not lost..

I also forgot to get the butter out to soften, make garlic butter and then harden again, so I just put blobs of garlic puree on cubes..

add butter

formed the meat round the butter to make meatballs

balls

and breadcrumbed them, I seasoned the crumbs with lemon, pepper and oregano

breadcrumb

I heated up a shallow oven dish of oil, just enough to cover the bottom, put the mini kievs in to almost shallow fry in the oven, turning occasionally

bake

and it was as simple as that, I served them on the rosti thingies

rosti

along with some mixed veg

with beans

Delicious, buttery, garlicky, yummy

meatball kievs

I would definitely recommend having a go

kievs

It’s given me an idea for something else, so I have to get motivated now..

