Tags

, , , , , , ,

if in doubt, put corn chips and cheese on top..

I was trying to think of what I could do with a chicken breast to make it go further and half a bag of corn chips which I didn’t want to throw out, but were a bit stale to snack on that didn’t involve potatoes as we’d had chips the night before an I was trying to be healthy, so I came up with this..

Chicken fajita taco nacho risotto:

It’s a bit of a mouthful to say, but was really yummy and very easy to make, Mr 5 ate all of it, which was a nice surprise seeing as lately he’s not been able to finish his meals..

faj risotto prep

I cooked off the chicken and peppers in the spices as if I were making fajitas.

cook chix

Then added the rice and cooked that for a few minutes.

add rice

then I covered it in water.

add water

Brought it to the boil, then simmered it on very low until all the water was absorbed, I was going to dollop salsa on top but only had a tiny bit so I added some diced beef tomato to it and put that on top along with half a tin of mixed beans…

toms

Then I covered the lot in corn chips, added some cheese and put it in the oven to melt..

cornchips

I did but some guacamole on top, but I’m not sure where that picture went..

with nachos

it was really lovely, if in doubt, put corn chips and cheese on top..

cheesy nachos

