Tags

, , , , , , , ,

I served mine with bought mash, I’ve decided life is far too short to arse about making mashed potato when you can buy a perfectly good Marks and Sparks one for a couple of quid..

Technically this is not a known dish, a classic turbigo is with kidneys, but as I am not a great fan of kidney unless they are in a steak and kidney pie I decided that it would be perfectly ok with liver instead and it was..

I cheated and used half a packet of beef gravy mix for the sauce and red wine instead of sherry because I didn’t have any, but a sausage casserole mix would work equally well, lol. or you could flour the liver and go down the roux and stock route (yawn)

I served mine with bought mash, I’ve decided life is far too short to arse about making mashed potato when you can buy a perfectly good Marks and Sparks one for a couple of quid..

Liver Turbigo:

liver turbigo prep

I browned the sausages and bacon a bit first in with some onion and button mushrooms

cook meat

before adding the liver, I used lambs liver because it’s not as strong.

Then I swamped it with red wine and added the gravy mix

cook out

Simmered it for a while and served it with veg and mash.

liver turbigo

Pictures aren’t much to write home about, but the dinner was delicious and cheap

with mash

