Tags

, , , , , ,

It tasted lovely, albeit a little too sweet for me, next time I’ll use less sugar and make more sauce, and probably add a little more chilli and ginger, oh and fry the mince until it’s more crispy, but apart from that, it turned out very nice.

I was looking for something different to do with mince, I thought we ought to have a change from taco everything, so I had a mooch round on line and found this recipe for Korean Beef bowl, I was a bit dubious, couldn’t really envisage what it would taste like, despite the recipe having pictures I’m no expert on Korean food, in fact I don’t think I’ve ever made anything before, so this was a simple dinner to ease into it.

I didn’t have spring onions so I used leek instead and I added some peppers too, should have put some mushrooms in there actually.

It tasted lovely, albeit a little too sweet for me, next time I’ll use less sugar and make more sauce, and probably add a little more chilli and ginger, oh and fry the mince until it’s more crispy, but apart from that, it turned out very nice, it was really quick and easy to make too.

Korean Beef bowl:

korean beef bowl prep

I made the sauce, which was
1/3 cup brown sugar, packed
1/4 cup soy sauce
1 tablespoon sesame oil
1/2 teaspoon crushed red-pepper flakes, or more to taste (I used chilli flakes)
1/4 teaspoon ground ginger

sauce

Fried the garlic and added the mince and gave that a moment before adding the leek and pepper.

leeks

then when it was brown

fry

added the sauce and fried it off some more and served it on rice

beef

it was that simple

beef bowl

Very nice as it was, kind of thinking that would be nice with taco seasoning..lol

korean beef bowl

