Tags

, , , , , , ,

The texture was amazing, it was almost like a mousse when I bit into it and that’s just about when the flavour came through, and I remembered why I didn’t like calves liver,

Caught up in the whole Lidl exotic animal buying frenzy, I bought some of everything, including veal liver.

I have no idea why I bought it, I know I don’t like calves liver but for some reason it just didn’t equate, it wasn’t until I got it out of the box that it occurred to me that this would be just as strong, but it was defrosted and needed to be used.

I really like lamb and chicken livers, but as I said, pig and calves liver are too strong in flavour for me, so this dinner was a fail before I’d even started.

Veal liver in a mushroom and cream sauce:

liver prep

I cooked off some onions and oyster and shitake mushrooms, then put them to one side while I fried the liver, which I lightly dusted in flour for a few minutes on each side.

flour

then I added some calvados

fry

and some Dijon mustard and cream

red wine reduce

put the mushrooms back in

mush

and then served it with veg, mash and some crispy prosciutto on top

uneaten

The texture was amazing, it was almost like a mousse when I bit into it and that’s just about when the flavour came through, and I remembered why I didn’t like calves liver, so both of us left it, I wasn’t disappointed just cross that I’d not realised I wouldn’t like it

left

The rest of it was nice..

Fortunately my mums mince pies were delicious so when I got a bit hungry before bed I had something nice to eat..

mince pies

