Tags

, , , , , , , , ,

it seems bubble and squeak is all the rage at the moment, another friend made bubble and squeak to go with a fish cake and a poached egg, I’m quite certain I’m going to steal his idea in the near future..

I was half watching Saturday lunch on the BBC1 last weekend between bouts of hoovering, I think it’s called that, it has that bloke, James Martin or someone on it, anyway someone must have been doing a recipe with bubble and squeak because although I don’t recall seeing what they did, I do remember thinking it was a good idea and I should put some potatoes in the oven for it.

Usually bubble and squeak is made of leftovers, but as I didn’t have any I started from scratch, I was already going to use up some turkey breast, so

Christmas bubble and squeak

seemed like the obvious choice, I reckon it’ll be just as nice with leftovers, which is quite handy as it’s coming up to Christmas anyway, I used cold baked potatoes.

xmas bubble prep

I boiled the veg and then chopped them up with the potato

veggies

mixed them together in a big pile and roasted the whole thing in the oven while I was cooking some stuffing, pigs and the turkey

turkey

it was actually rather simple to assemble, the bubble and squeak, some stuffing

fry bubble

which I topped with the turkey

add turkey

and then some bread sauce, gravy and parsnip ribbons

snips

Not only did it look bloody great, even if I say so myself

xmas bubble

it tasted bloody gorgeous..

bsqueak

I had quite a lot left over..

bake bubble

so the following day I made

Bubble and squeak lentil curry soup

leftovers

Which, my friend said on my FB page, “sounds bizarrely delicious” and it was, it was also quite lazy, Mr 5 wanted a tin of tomato soup and as I always keep some kind of soup in the cupboard I decided to use this Heinz Lentil soup as the base for my dinner

I had some rice left over from something which I’d froze, so I added that to the soup

rice

and mixed in a bit of chicken I had in the fridge, but without it would made a great vegetarian dinner

add chicken

I simmered it until it began to thicken a bit more and then heaped it with the twice baked bubble and a couple of bhargis.

curry bubble

it seems bubble and squeak is all the rage at the moment, another friend made bubble and squeak to go with a fish cake and a poached egg, I’m quite certain I’m going to steal his idea in the near future..

pegg and bs

