Tags

, , , , , ,

it is neither classically a bisque, nor does it have lobster in it, but it sounds better that leftovers soup.

I was going through the fridge doing a shopping list on Saturday and I came across a packet of smoked salmon, every year I buy a packet, and the one offered for half price, and every year I forget to use it and vow the next year I wont bother, but always do, cos it’s Christmas and that’s what you always do, anyway, one I froze and this one was 11 days out of date..
I decided as it was sealed and smoked it would probably be perfectly ok to use and a quick sniff and nibble confirmed it was, but just to be on the safe side, what with Mr i’s immune system, I’d probably poison him, I decided to cook it..

I’ve have called this

Mock Lobster bisque:

because it is neither classically a bisque, nor does it have lobster in it, but it sounds better that leftovers soup, I used a piece of hake to bulk it out and prawns for flavour, I also had a tin of tomato soup in the cupboard which would save a lot of hassle.

mock bisque

I sweated off some finally chopped leek in butter, without colour, added the prawns and then put the piece of frozen haddock in, I left it whole

add fish

covered it in water and simmered it until the hake had broken up added the salmon, which I chopped up and then let it simmer for a few minutes

add salmon

I blitzed the lot with a handheld blender

whizz up

and then added the soup, some more water, brung it to the boil and blitzed it some more

add soup

then I added some whole prawns and a splosh of cream

prawns

before serving it with a swirl more cream and a sprinkling of smoked paprika

with cream

Now I really enjoyed that, it was delicious and filling..

bisque

Mr 5 who has the appetite of a gnat lately managed a few spoonfuls before apologising profusely because he just didn’t fancy it, which was a shame because he said it tasted quite nice..

