Tags

, , , , ,

I mostly made this because I wanted to use some mushrooms up, it’s similar in construction to the rabbit vol au vent, and very easy with bought, rolled pastry.

I made this last Monday, which just goes to show I how rubbish I am, I seem to have turned into a terrible procrastinator and keep putting things off in favour other equally trivial pursuits, like going on epic scampers because the weather has been so glorious of late, well let’s just say it hasn’t rained for a bit in the afternoons..

Anyway I finally put aside this afternoon for a catch up on my blog and the not so arduous task, thanks to the internet of renewing my passport and driving license, that cost 90 quid, which is a bit ironic seeing as I very much doubt I’ll be leaving the country any time soon.

scamper

So, without further faffing about..

Chicken vol au vent:

I mostly made this because I wanted to use some mushrooms up, it’s similar in construction to the rabbit vol au vent, and very easy with bought, rolled pastry.

chix vol au vent prep

I cooked the leeks, mushrooms and chicken in some butter and oil.

cook

made a roux with some cornflour.

make roux

Thickened it into a sauce with some water and let it gently simmer..
In the meantime I made two vol au vents with some ready rolled puff pastry.

pastry

Egg washed them, baked them until golden brown, pushed the middle in and filled them with the chicken mix, to which I added some cream at the end of cooking.

chix in sauce

I topped them with crispy prosciutto

chix vol

and served them with a heap of veg..

chix volauvent

That was very nice indeed and rather filling too.

