Tags

, , , , ,

reminds me of the groundnut soup we had in the Gambia many years ago, which kind of put me off off peanuts in cooking, and yes, it was as revolting as you’d imagine hot pureed liquid peanuts to be..

The inspiration from this recipe came from watching Jamie and Jimmie Friday night feast with Tinie Tempah where they made a Nigerian dish called suya.
I thought I’d give this a go despite not being overly keen on peanut sauce, I remember a year or two ago I tried my hand at chicken satay, I don’t think I blogged it because it turned out to be a bit of a disaster and I didn’t really like it, it’s too claggy in the mouth, it’s just wrong, I like peanut butter but this always reminds me of the groundnut soup we had in the Gambia many years ago, which kind of put me off of peanuts in cooking, and yes, it was as revolting as you’d imagine hot pureed liquid peanuts to be….

Anyway that aside, as I couldn’t get any African Negro Pepper, despite looking on line for sometime I decided it would have to do without, so I have no idea if this remotely resembles the dish, it was ok, apart from the texture, I won’t be making it again or anything that involves pureed peanuts.

Not Nigerian beef Suya.

suya prep

I blitzed some peanuts, cayenne pepper, chilli, cumin and ground ginger in my mini food processor, I was going to chuck in some herbs but I remembered the last time I did that with the unblogged satay post, it went a horrid bile green colour, so I didn’t.

blitz peanuts

I sliced the end piece of fillet I had thinly and the threaded it on to a wooden skewer and coated mine in the sauce, Mr 5 had declined when I asked if he wanted any on his.

beef on skwer

Then I put it in a hot pan in the oven, on account of not having a bbq..

suya kebab

I served it with some fries and a salad.

fries and salad

Nothing to write home about, next time I’ll omit the peanut sauce and just make a beef kebab I think..
Not a hideous disaster, just not something I’ll bother with again..

suya in pitta

