Tags

, , , ,

Although I had got a chicken breast out of the freezer for dinner, it wasn’t quite thawed and I had no idea what to do with it, but time was getting on, I was in the middle of making the cake and the sausage rolls needed, well, rolling..

Last weekend I went up to visit my best friend, I’ve not seen her since about September I think, life seemed to get in the way and before we knew it, it was a new year, so we decided to have a second little Christmas with dinner, crackers, presents, cake and and even a little tiny tree..

x2

Dinner was delicious, but Christmas dinner is one of my favourite roasts

xmas1

We had a brilliant evening and ate far too much cake and sausage rolls.

xmas dinner

Anyway, the night before Christmas I decided to make a cake, A coffee and walnut one, using this tried and tested recipe from the BBC good food website (recipe), remembering of course to use SR flour this time.

coffee cake

and some sausage rolls

sausage rolls

Although I had got a chicken breast out of the freezer for dinner, it wasn’t quite thawed and I had no idea what to do with it, but time was getting on, I was in the middle of making the cake and the sausage rolls needed, well, rolling..

So I needed to make something that didn’t involve any thinking.

Emergency Chicken:

I ought to add some sort of disclaimer or health warning to this, as a rule, it’s not a good idea to use partially thawed chicken when cooking, but as this is real life sometimes rules need to be broken, just ensure the chicken is cooked properly.

I cut the chicken up, put it into a casserole with some butter, white wine, leeks and mushrooms

chick in dish

Then I put it in the oven to bake, along with some hastily diced potatoes, I took it out about 20 minutes later, stared at it for a while, added the scrapings of a pot of creme fraiche and some red Leicester and stuck it back in the the oven until it looked like this

add cf

Then I stared at it again, trying to decide what to do with it.

I decided on a breadcrumb topping with cheese, I grated up a bit of dry bread I had and added a handful of golden breadcrumbs

crumb top

and then I baked it some more until it looked like this

topping

I scraped it out of the bottom of the dish, put a few veggies with it

gratin

and it was, despite looking a bit rough and ready, very nice..

